What is the City's Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA)?

Since 1969, the State of California has required that all cities and counties adequately plan to meet the housing needs of everyone in their communities. To meet this requirement, each city and county must develop a Housing Element as part of its General Plan (the local government’s long-range blueprint for growth) that shows how it will meet its community’s housing needs. There are many laws that govern this process, and collectively they are known as Housing Element law.

 Every eight years, every city and county in California must update their Housing Element and have it certified by the California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD). The current Housing Element cycle for the Humboldt region runs from 2019-2027. HCD determines the number of new homes by income category the Humboldt region needs to plan for during the current Housing Element cycle, and Humboldt County Association of Governments (HCAOG) distributes the region’s housing allocation amongst the seven cities and County of Humboldt. The City of Eureka was allocated a RHNA of 952 units (i.e., a goal of constructing 952 new housing units within City limits between 2019-2027). The RHNA goal is divided into four income levels as follows:

City of Eureka 2019-27 RHNA

Very Low Income (VLI)

231 units

Low Income (LI)

147 units

Moderate Income (MI)

172 units

Above Moderate Income (AMI)

402 units


952 units

Show All Answers

1. What is the project timeline?
2. Who is RCHDC?
3. What was the impetus for this project?
4. What is the City's Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA)?
5. How is Eureka doing in terms of RHNA goals?
6. What is considered affordable housing?